Chapter History

Wittie Brown Hutchings, Fifth Vice-President of DRT, and Evelyn Hornsby Mims, both of Austin chapters, issued a call for April 12, 1926 to form a new chapter in Fort Worth.
A previous DRT Chapter — the Isaac Van Zandt Chapter — had been formed in Fort Worth in 1904 and disbanded in 1907. Among those charter members were several Van Zandt family members, including Frances Cooke Lipscomb Van Zandt (widow of patriot Isaac Van Zandt and who was also a citizen of the Republic of Texas) and her three daughters.
At the organizational meeting held April 12, 1926 at the Westbrook Hotel, Wittie Hutchings acted as Temporary Chairman and Evelyn Mims acted as Secretary Pro Tem. The following officers were elected:

PRESIDENT: Fannie Bechton Nunnally
FIRST VICE-PRESIDENT: Virginia Scoble Covert
RECORDING SECRETARY: Araminta McClelland Taulman
TREASURER: Mattie Alberta Tracht
HISTORIAN: Seab Brookshire Peters
REGISTRAR: Pauline Jackson Chandler

Upcoming CRT Events

[eventlist categories="6,7" limit=4]